The federal government has announced suspension of levies and taxes on certain essential food commodities imported via land and sea borders.

The development was made known by the Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Abubakar Kyari, during a press briefing at the National Press Centre in Abuja on Monday, July 8.

Kyari disclosed that a 150-day Duty-Free Import Window will apply to designated food items such as cowpeas, wheat, husked brown rice, and maize.

This initiative is part of the President’s Accelerated Stabilization and Advancement Plan, aimed at achieving economic stability and enhancing food security across the nation.

The minister highlighted the government’s ongoing efforts to combat food inflation, which has contributed to significant price increases in recent times.

He said: “The federal government has announced a 150-day Duty-Free Import Window for Food Commodities, suspension of duties, tariffs and taxes for the importation of certain food commodities (through land and sea borders). These commodities include maize, husked brown rice, wheat and cowpeas.

Related News:  LASTMA Denies Responsibility For Death Of Alleged Tricycle Rider Who Hung Self

“Under this arrangement, imported food commodities will be subjected to a Recommended Retail Price (RRP).

“I am glad to reiterate that the Government’s position exemplifies standards that would not compromise the safety of the various food items for consumption.

“In addition to the importation by the private sector, the Federal Government will import 250,000MT of wheat and 250,000MT of maize. The imported food commodities in their semi-processed state will target supplies to the small-scale processors and millers across the country.”