The area known as Mushin today was a thick forest hundreds of years ago. Because of its proximity to Èkó, Traders and Hunters ply through the dense forest to get to Ebute.

In the Mushin forest, stood a very beautiful and attractive tree called Igi Ìshín (ackee fruit tree). Some of the traders who have walked for several days, usually rest under the Ìshín tree.

But two hunters who came from different directions first identify this unoccupied forest as their home. They were Odu-Abore from IIe-Ife and Aileru from Benin.

Anytime these Hunters want to describe their home, they will say ibi tí a ti n mú Ìshín (where we pick Ìshín). Hence the source of its name: (mu) as in pick and (Ìshín), joined together to form Mushin.

Thereafter, from scanty hamlets, it grew gradually into a village and then a town.

During the colonial era, Mushin was part of the Ikeja Local Government until it was carved out as a district in 1954. However with the then military government’s suspension of political activities in 1966, and the creation of additional district in 1967, Mushin District Council was elevated to a Town Council Status.

The 1976 Local Government Edict divided the council into two, Mushin West which covers Mushin, Agege Motor road, Isolo, Shogunle,Onigbongbo,Ejigbo, Odi Olowo, Mary land, Ilupeju,Cappa Estate; and Mushin East covering Bariga, Shomolu, and Kosofe.

Later, the Lagos state government changed Mushin East to Shomolu Local Government, while Mushin West became known and addressed as Mushin Local Government.

During the civilian regime of Alhaji Lateef Jakanke between (1979-1983), the Local Government was again divided into four namely: Mushin LG, Itire/ikate LG,Oshodi/Isolo LG, and Odi Olowo/Ojuwoye/Onigbongbo LG.

The Military administration of Gbolahan Mudashiru prohibited and abolished the newly created Local Government and reverted to the status quo.

The subsequent creation of additional local governments by the Ibrahim Babangida military administration in 1989, saw Mushin losing some of its boundaries to Ikeja and Mainland Local Governments.

In 2004, after a referendum, Odi Olowo/Ojuwoye LCDA was carved out of the present Mushin Local Government, with the headquarters at Palm Avenue, Mushin.

SOURCE: Gossip House